Level 2: go further

Volcanoes & Icelandic glaciers

 

Exploration of the southern region of Iceland between the Fjallabak reserve and the Mýrdalsjökull glacier. Enjoy incredible views of volcanoes, glaciers, pristine verdant valleys, rivers, and wildest hot springs. Iceland means experiencing all four seasons in a day. Adventure seekers, this expedition is for you!

  • Fitness
  • Technique
  • Environment
  • July 11-22, 2020
    Next departure
  • 170 km
  • 9 days
    of exploration
  • Activities
    Trekking, ice walk
  • € 2550
    Price
  • 8
    Participants
2 available slots
out of 8

Route & Maps

DAY 1 - Reykjavik
Meeting between 2pm and 4pm at the Keflavik International Airport. Transfer in a private shuttle to a guesthouse in Reykjavik. Presentation of the expedition and check up of the gear. Dinner in a restaurant.

 

DAY 2 - Lake Langisjór
Distance: 15 km - 4 hour van transfer

Ascent/Descent: 350 m + / 100 m -

A valley of straight black sand and a blue water lake of several kilometers long, lost in the Highlands of Iceland between the impressive Vatnajökull in the north and the Landmannalaugar, this is what this first day of trekking offers us. Located between the Tungnaárfjöll mountain range on the west and the Fögrufjöll mountain range onthe east, Langisjór Lake stretches for about 20 km. It will be necessary to move away from all civilization, in a place of a rare beauty, to discover breathtaking panoramas and enjoy some of the most beautiful views of Iceland.

 

DAY 3 - Sveinstindur and Laki
Distance: 25 km
Ascent/Descent: 300 m + / 500 m -

After passing along the lake we reach the summit of Mount Sveinstindur where we will be able to admire a fabulous 360 ° panorama. In front of us the strange Laki lava fields, covered with neon green moss and partly flooded by the overflowing Skaftá River. The Lakagígar, meaning "craters of Laki", offers a volcanic fissure zone located between the glaciers Mýrdalsjökull and Vatnajökull. On this volcanic zone which spreads over 27 km, we can admire no less than 115 craters aligned from 40 to 70 meters. Its last eruption, more than 200 years ago, caused one of the biggest cataclysms in Icelandic history, which also affected Europe for several years.

 

DAY 4 - Skaftá River
Distance: 20 km
Ascent/Descent: 400 m + / 600 m -

We reach Skaftá River with its powerful, worrisome, muddy waters. Throughout the day we walk along the river side. We will be at the heart of a volcanic desert and fluorescent green moss. This day will be devoted to Iceland’s colours. We will reach the Eldgjá Canyon and set up the camp.

 

DAY 5 - Eldgjá "fire canyon"
Distance: 20 km
Ascent/Descent: 200 m + / 200 m -

Its breathtaking dimensions and the beauty of its landscapes make it a must for adventurers, the Eldgjá Canyon being the largest volcanic fissure in the world. Majestic green fields traversed by the fissure vent, a set of craters and unique gorges in the world, waterfalls including the famous Ófærufoss : this is what we will explore at the heart of this gigantic canyon throughout the day. In the evening, we will set up camp on the edge of the isolated Silfurfoss waterfall.

 

DAY 6 - Lake Holmsárlón
Distance: 20 km
Ascent/Descent: 300 m + / 200 m -

We progress through the extraordinary landscapes that join the Torfajökull caldera and the imposing dome of the Mýrdalsjökull Ice Cap. Approaching Lake Holmsárlón, we reach a place called "the red bottoms", where we will see the turquoise waters of Hólmsárlón and its waterfalls at the end of the lake, that plunge into a red crater. In the evening, we reach Strútslaug natural hot springs to enjoy an unforgettable bath at the end of the world before falling asleep under the shy stars of the Icelandic summer sky.

 

DAY 7 - Mælifellssandur Desert
Distance: 30 km
Ascent/Descent: 200 m + / 200 m -

We cross the desert Mælifellssandur, where the huge ice cap Mýrdalsjökull comes to die gently. In the middle of this strange black flatness stands the solitary cone of Mælifell covered with fluorescent foam (made famous by the aerial photos of Yann Arthus Bertrand). Further on, reaching Lake Alfavatn, we reach the trails of the famous Laugavegur trek.

 

DAY 8 - Gorges of Markarfljót
Distance: 30 km
Ascent/Descent: 200 m + / 800 m -

We continue our exploration towards the valley of Þórsmörk along the colorful gorges of Markarfljót, 200 meters deep. This stage of 30 km will allow us to reach the other side of the valley, at the feet of the white giants Mýrdalsjökull and Eyjafjallajökull.

 

DAY 9 - Eyjafjallajökull Glacier Exploration
Distance: 30 km
Ascent/Descent: 800 m + / 100 m -

We join our guide and go exploring Eyjafjallajökull Glacier from the Fimmvörðuháls Pass. The program features rope management skills and glacier hiking skills with crampons. We will spend the night in tent on the glacier.

 

DAY 10 - To the Atlantic Ocean
Distance: 15 km
Ascent/Descent: 900 m -

Descent of the glacier and end of the trek to Skógar, point of arrival of our exploration. Visit of Skógar museum retracing the history and life of yesteryear in the country. Visit of the waterfalls of Skogafoss. Transfer in a private van to Reykjavik and night in a guesthouse.

 

DAY 11 - Reykjavik

Free time during the day. Should you wish, we would be happy to recommend some activities you can do.  In the evening, we will have our last group dinner in a restaurant. Night in a guesthouse.

 

DAY 12 - Return

Transfer to Keflavik International Airport and return flight.

Activities

Two food supplies are organized to lighten our bags and to enjoy this exploration.

This sublime country can sometimes offer a difficult climate, it is important to have the right equipment adapted to an environment that can be windy and wet (see equipment list below).

📸 Julien Zimmer

Departures & Prices

From To Adult price <21 years old Place restante  
Jul 11, 2020 Jul 22, 2020 2550 € 2050 € 6 Register
Jul 29, 2020 Aug 9, 2020 2550 € 2050 € 8 Register

Included

  • Exploration with Camille and Steve
  • Bivouac and orientation equipment: expedition tents, gas stove, Iceland maps, satellite gps.
  • Food during expedition (with 2 food supplies)
  • 2 days with an icelandic guide for the glacier exploration
  • 3 dinners in a restaurant
  • Accommodation: 3 nights in an guesthouse in Reykjavik, 7 nights in a wild camp and 1 night in a hut.
  • All private transfers in Iceland

Not-included

  • International flight (approx. €350 from Paris/Geneva/London, etc.).
  • Drinks in restaurants
  • Breakfast on sunday 21
  • Your personal gear (see mandatory gear list).
  • Everything not specified in the “Included” section.
  • Emergency evacuation / repatriation insurance
List of required gear for participants
Download

Terms and conditions to participate

LEVEL 3

 

Being able to carry a bag of about 15 kg
Being in good physical condition (regular practice of a sports activities)
Be motivated and ready to step out of your comfort zone

 

  • Fitness
    Fitness
    Be in good enough shape to carry a 15kg backpack for several hours.
  • Skills
    Skills
    No specific skills
  • Motivation
    Motivation
    All fired up for an extraordinary, once-in-a-lifetime experience!

 

1% of this expedition revenues are donated to W.W.F

WWF's mission is to conserve nature and reduce the most pressing threats to the diversity of life on Earth. Our vision is to build a future in which people live in harmony with nature. To do so, the WWF France contracts with companies to help them to reduce their ecological imprint.

Registration

Details
Getting to know you
An error occurred, could you please check the form and try again.
Confirm
An error occurred, could you please check the form and try again.
Finalisation
An error occurred, could you please check the form and try again.
Plus d’informations ?
rgpd.cookies_box.title
rgpd.cookies_box.description
rgpd.cookies_box.links.accept
rgpd.cookies_box.links.dismiss

rgpd.cookies_popup.title

rgpd.cookies_popup.intro
1. rgpd.cookies_popup.stats.title
rgpd.cookies_popup.stats.content
2. rgpd.cookies_popup.personalization.title
rgpd.cookies_popup.personalization.content
Tout accepter

Niveau 2: aller plus loin

Volcans & glaciers d'Islande

  • Fitness
  • Technique
  • Environnement
  • 11 - 22 juillet 2020
    Prochain départ
  • 170 km
  • 9 jours
    d'exploration
  • Activités
    Trek, marche sur glacier
  • 2550 €
    Prix
  • 8
    Participants
2 places restantes
sur 8

Itinéraire & Carte

JOUR 1 - Reykjavik
Rendez-vous entre 14h et 16h à l’aéroport International de Keflavik.
Transfert vers Reykjavik. Installation en auberge, présentation de l'expédition et vérification du matériel. Diner dans un restaurant.

 

JOUR 2 - Lac Langisjór
Distance: 15 km - 4h de transfert en van
Dénivelés: 350 m + / 100 m -

Une longue vallée de sable noir rectiligne et un lac aux eaux bleutées de plusieurs kilomètres de long, perdu dans les Hautes Terres d’Islande entre l’impressionnant Vatnajökull au nord et le Landmannalaugar: voici ce que nous offre comme paysage cette première journée de marche. Coincé entre la chaîne de Tungnaárfjöll à l’ouest et celle de Fögrufjöll à l’est, le lac de Langisjór s’étire tout en longueur sur environ 20km. Il faudra s’éloigner de toute civilisation, dans un endroit d’une rare beauté, pour découvrir des panoramas à couper le souffle, et pouvoir profiter de certaines des plus belles vues d’Islande.

 

JOUR 3 - Sveinstindur et le Laki
Distance: 25 km
Dénivelés: 300 m + / 500 m -

Nous finissons de longer le lac pour atteindre le sommet du mont Sveinstindur d’où nous admirons un panorama fabuleux sur 360°. Devant nous s'étendent les étranges champs de lave du Laki, couverts de mousse vert fluo et en partie inondés par les débordements de la rivière Skaftá. Le Lakagígar, signifiant « les cratères du Laki », offre une zone de fissure située entre les glaciers Mýrdalsjökull et Vatnajökull. Sur cette zone volcanique qui s’étale sur 27 km, on peut admirer pas moins de 115 cratères alignés de 40 à 70 mètres. Sa dernière éruption, il y a plus de 200 ans, a causé l’un des plus grands cataclysmes de l’Histoire islandaise, impactant aussi l’Europe pendant plusieurs années.

 

JOUR 4 - Rivière Skaftá
Distance: 20 km
Dénivelés: 400 m + / 600 m -

Nous atteignons la rivière Skaftá aux puissantes eaux limoneuses puissantes et inquiétantes, que nous longerons de près et de loin tout au long de la journée. Au coeur d'un désert volcanique et de mousses vertes fluorescentes, cette journée sera placée sous le signe des couleurs. Nous atteindrons le canyon de l'Eldgjá pour y poser le campement.

 

JOUR 5 - Eldgjá " la gorge de feu "
Distance: 20 km
Dénivelés: 200 m + / 200 m -

Ses dimensions époustouflantes et la beauté de ses paysages en font un site incontournable pour les aventuriers, le canyon de l'Eldgjá étant la plus grande fissure éruptive à la surface de la planète. Des étendues d’une verdure majestueuse, traversées de part en part par la célèbre faille, un ensemble de cratères et de gorges uniques au monde, des cascades dont la célèbre chute Ófærufoss: voici ce que nous promet l'exploration du coeur de cette gigantesque faille. Le soir, c'est sur le bord de la cascade isolée de Silfurfoss que nous poserons le camp. Nous récupérerons notre premier ravitaillement de nourriture.

 

JOUR 6 -  Lac Holmsárlón
Distance: 20 km
Dénivelés: 300 m + / 200 m -

Nous progressons dans les paysages extraordinaires qui rejoignent la caldeira de Torfajökull et le dôme imposant de la calotte glaciaire du Mýrdalsjökull. En s'approchant du lac Holmsárlón, nous atteignons le lieu-dit « les fonds rouges » et les eaux turquoises de Hólmsárlón ainsi que ses chutes d’eau qui plongent dans un cratère rouge. Le soir, ce sont les sources chaudes de Strútslaug qui occuperont nos pensées, dans lesquelles nous profiterons d'un bain inoubliable au bout du monde avant de s'endormir sous les étoiles timides du ciel d'été islandais.

 

JOUR 7 - Désert de Mælifellssandur
Distance: 30 km
Dénivelés: 200 m + / 200 m -

Nous traverserons le désert de Mælifellssandur, où l’énorme calotte glaciaire du Mýrdalsjökull vient mourir en pente douce. Au milieu de cette étrange platitude noire se dresse le cône solitaire de Mælifell couvert de mousse fluorescente (rendu célèbre par les photos aériennes de Yann Arthus Bertrand). Plus loin, en atteignant le lac Alfavatn, nous retrouvons les sentiers du célèbre trek du Laugavegur.

 

JOUR 8 - Gorges de la Markarfljót
Distance: 30 km
Dénivelés: 200 m + / 8
00 m -

Nous poursuivons notre exploration en direction de la vallée de Þórsmörk en longeant les gorges colorées de la Markarfljót, profondes de 200 mètres. Cette étape de 30 km nous permettra d'atteindre l'autre versant de la vallée, aux pieds des géants blancs de Mýrdalsjökull et Eyjafjallajökull.

 

JOUR 9- Exploration glaciaire d'Eyjafjallajökull
Distance: 30 km
Dénivelés: 800 m + / 100 m -

Nous rejoignons notre guide et partons explorer le glacier Eyjafjallajökull en partant du Col de Fimmvörðuháls. Au programme, techniques d'encordement et apprentissage de la randonnée glaciaire avec crampons. Nuit sous tente sur le glacier.

 

JOUR 10 - Vers l'océan
Distance: 15 km
Dénivelés: 900 m -

Descente du glacier et fin du trek jusqu'à Skógar, point d'arrivée de notre exploration. Visite du musée de Skógar retraçant l'histoire et la vie d'antan dans le pays. Visite des chutes d'eau de Skogafoss. Transfert en van vers Reykjavik et nuit en auberge.

 

JOUR 11 - Reykjavik
Temps libre la journée. Si vous le souhaitez, nous pourrons vous suggérer des activités. Le soir, nous profiterons d'un dernier dîner de groupe dans un restaurant. Nuit en auberge. 

 

JOUR 12 - Retour
Transfert à l’aéroport de Keflavik et vol retour.

Activités

Deux ravitaillements en nourriture sont organisés afin d'alléger nos sacs et de pouvoir profiter de cette exploration.

Le climat peut parfois se réveler diffcile, il est important d'avoir le bon équipement adapté à un environnement qui peut se révéler venteux et humide (voir liste d'équipement plus bas).

📸 Julien Zimmer / Icelandic Mountain Guides

Départs & Tarifs

Du Au Prix Adulte Offre Duo place(s) restante(s)  
11 juil. 2020 22 juil. 2020 2550 € 2050 € 6 S'inscrire
29 juil. 2020 9 août 2020 2550 € 2050 € 8 S'inscrire

Inclus

  • Exploration avec Camille et Steve
  • Matériel de bivouac et d'orientation: tentes d'expédition, réchaud à essence, cartes d'Islande, gps satellite.
  • Nourriture durant toute l'expédition (avec 2 ravitaillements)
  • 2 jours avec un guide islandais pour l'exploration du glacier
  • 3 diners dans un restaurant
  • Hébergement : 3 nuits en auberge à Reykjavik avec petit-déjeuner, 7 nuits en bivouac sauvage et 1 nuit en refuge.
  • Tous les transferts privés en Islande

Non Inclus

  • Vol International (environ 350 € depuis Paris, Genève, Londres, Amsterdam)
  • Votre matériel personnel (télécharger la liste obligatoire)
  • Les boissons dans les restaurants
  • Le petit-déjeuner du dimanche 21
  • Tout ce qui n'est pas spécifié dans inclus
  • Assurance Assistance Rapatriement
Liste d’équipement obligatoire Participant
Télécharger

Conditions de participation

NIVEAU 3

Etre capable de porter un sac d'environ 15 kg
Etre en bonne condition physique (pratique régulière d'une activité sportive)
Etre motivé(e) et prêt(e) à sortir de sa zone de confort 

  • Fitness
    Fitness
    Être en bonne condition physique & capable de porter 15 kg sur le dos
  • Technique
    Technique
    Aucune compétence particulière
  • Motivation
    Motivation
    Être remonté(e) comme une pendule !

 

1% des ventes de cette expédition sont reversées au W.W.F

La mission du WWF est de stopper la dégradation de l'environnement et de préserver la biodiversité de notre planète. Notre vision est de construire un avenir dans lequel les gens vivent en harmonie avec la nature. Pour cela, le WWF France s’engage auprès des acteurs privés pouvant contribuer à enrayer la dégradation des écosystèmes. Dans cette lutte, l’entreprise est un puissant levier de changement.

Inscription

Détails
Mieux te connaître
Une erreur est survenue, merci de vérifier le formulaire et de réessayer.
Validation
Une erreur est survenue, merci de vérifier le formulaire et de réessayer.
Finalisation
Une erreur est survenue, merci de vérifier le formulaire et de réessayer.
Plus d’informations ?
rgpd.cookies_box.title
rgpd.cookies_box.description
rgpd.cookies_box.links.accept
rgpd.cookies_box.links.dismiss

rgpd.cookies_popup.title

rgpd.cookies_popup.intro
1. rgpd.cookies_popup.stats.title
rgpd.cookies_popup.stats.content
2. rgpd.cookies_popup.personalization.title
rgpd.cookies_popup.personalization.content
Tout accepter